The Part Two part

I’ve been writing this blog for nearly a month now and it seems to be nudging me in a particular direction. There are many bad things about being a workaholic, which I most certainly was, but one of the worst is the fact that it distracts you from everything else in your life. At least that’s how it happened with me. Particularly once the job stopped being fun there wasn’t much space in my brain, what with the anxiety and the stomach aches. This blog challenges me to pay attention again, to regain some of the curiosity I had when I first moved to Rome many years ago. I have no idea what lies ahead in My Life: Part Two but I do know one thing for sure. I never again want to be in a situation where work takes up all of the space in my head and makes it impossible to appreciate my family, my friends, and the fact that I live in one of the the most beautiful cities in the world.

Cheesy flowers aside, Rome is an incredible city and I need to start appreciating that more.

2 responses to “The Part Two part

  1. It is really so good to hear you say (see you write?) that. And a tage for “navel contemplation” reminds me, before you know it those great oranges will be at the market again.

  2. This is short, sharp and right to the point and I congratulate you for your intentions for Part Two. I am fortunate to be able to stop working and shift my mind and heart to family and other things every day (unless I travel) but I know that many have difficulties to do so and get overhelmed with their work. Continue to share your experience and mention your posts on Facebook so we keep alerted! Best, Simone

Leave a Reply

