What I did on my summer vacation

COVID-19 messed up my summer vacation plans. I realize that I am hardly unique in this. I also realize that many many people would have been ecstatic to be stuck in the place where I live — Rome — during the summer. Still. I had more than enough work to keep me busy during the day but not many friends were in town nor did I have much energy to wander around in the devil’s fiery furnace that is Rome in August. A little depressed, a little bored, I needed a project.

I decided to build a dog museum. I can’t take credit for the idea, as much as I’d love to do so. Recently, I read about a bored artsy couple in London who created a fine arts museum for their gerbils, Pandoro and Tiramisu, while they were all in lockdown. The Gerbil Art Gallery featured gerbil-themed versions of famous artworks. It’s ridiculously adorable. Have a Google and you’ll see. I am far from being an artist but I thought I’d try my hand at some miniature paintings featuring Phryne and her pals. I emptied out a bookshelf and got to work. It was so much fun y’all.

Welcome to Il Museo di Phryne.

Here are the “artworks” in closeup.

The late lamented Morgan makes an appearance.

Reina with the pearl earring.

I knew that someday I’d end up in a museum. I couldn’t be this beautiful for nothing!

 

5 responses to “What I did on my summer vacation

  1. z99QPC5SBvoJgNgBX70VYkT4sDwem4HWNYFJfnP7rFY=

    Great post, Ruth! My favorites are American Gothic and Starry Night I would love to see Snickers and Dobby featured in a masterwork of art. Tell me when you’re ready to go into biz!

  2. Fantastic and super ingenious!

  3. Enjoying your museum and all the imaginative artwork on Day Six of my 14-day quarantine in Vancouver after 11 months in Paris, due to cancelled flights due to Covid. This is a completely charming idea and playfully creative approach to amusing yourself and your followers while paying homage to the fabulous Phryne. BRAVA RUTH. Phryne is amused and flattered to have her own gallery. It’s obvious! Suggest Phryne floating dreamily on a bed of Monet water lilies…perhaps?

Leave a comment